An online community about 07 Ghost.

    History of the Netherlands


    Posts : 54
    Join date : 2010-09-16

    History of the Netherlands Empty History of the Netherlands

    Post  kosovohp01 on Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:34 am

    Under Charles V, Holy Roman Emperor, and King of Spain, the region was part of the Seventeen Provinces of the Netherlands, which also included most of present-day Belgium, Luxembourg, and some land of France and Germany. The Eighty Years' War between the provinces and Spain began in 1568.

    In 1579, the northern half of the Seventeen Provinces formed the Union of Utrecht, a treaty in which they promised to support each other in their defense against the Spanish army.[10] The Union of Utrecht is seen as the foundation of the modern Netherlands. In 1581 the northern provinces adopted the Act of Abjuration, the declaration of independence in which the provinces officially deposed Philip II of Spain.

    bingo online
    mr green

      Current date/time is Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:00 am